AUSSDA - The Austrian Social Science Data Archive

 

© AUSSDA

AUSSDA

AUSSDA - The Austrian Social Science Data Archive is a key research infrastructure for social sciences in Austria.

AUSSDA offers high-quality, user-friendly solutions for preparing and archiving digital data and making them available for reuse. A consortium consisting of the Universities of Vienna, Graz and Linz are responsible for the development and establishment of AUSSDA. The Core Facility AUSSDA is located at the Vienna University Library.

AUSSDA archives data according to international standards and makes them available for secondary analyses. By establishing an infrastructure for social sciences in Austria, AUSSDA ensures the sustainability of investments in research. Researchers and organisations archive at AUSSDA to increase the visibility and accessibility of data accompanying their research endeavours. Archived data enable the validation of results, allow new usage scenarios and encourage new cooperation among scholars. Making research data available at AUSSDA also helps in meeting the requirements of journals, which increasingly require data to be available for replication.

AUSSDA can assist from the initial project proposal until the conclusion of the research project and beyond, by ensuring that the archived data are findable, accessible, interoperable and reusable. AUSSDA offers trainings on data management plans and can be approached when questions concerning data citation, archiving or secondary analyses arise.

Primary users of AUSSDA’s services are researchers, lecturers and students of the social sciences. In addition, teachers and students from secondary educational institutions can benefit from AUSSDA, as well as media representatives and the general public.

AUSSDA - The Austrian Social Science Data Archive

 

The Austrian Social Science Data Archive. © AUSSDA

The Austrian Social Science Data Archive

AUSSDA - The Austrian Social Science Data Archive  ist eine zentrale Forschungsinfrastruktur für sozialwissenschaftliche Daten in Österreich.

AUSSDA bietet qualitativ hochwertige, benutzerfreundliche Lösungen für die Aufbereitung, Bereitstellung und Archivierung von digitalen Daten. Ein Konsortium bestehend aus den Universitäten Wien, Graz und Linz ist für den Aufbau und die Etablierung von AUSSDA verantwortlich. Als Core Facility ist AUSSDA an der Dienstleistungseinrichtung Bibliotheks- und Archivwesen der Universität Wien verankert. AUSSDA macht Forschungsdaten für NutzerInnen verfügbar und erleichtert die Nachnutzung von Daten. Durch die Bereitstellung einer Dateninfrastruktur für Sozialwissenschaften in Österreich wird die Nachhaltigkeit von Forschungsinvestitionen gesichert.

Forschende und Organisationen archivieren bei AUSSDA, weil Forschungsprojekte und deren Daten dadurch eine höhere Sichtbarkeit und Auffindbarkeit erlangen. Archivierte Daten ermöglichen die Validierung von Forschungsergebnissen, fördern neue Nutzungsszenarien und ermöglichen neue Kooperationen. Wer bei AUSSDA archiviert, erfüllt auch die Anforderungen von Journals, Daten für Replikationen verfügbar zu machen.

AUSSDA unterstützt von der Antragstellung über den gesamten Projektverlauf und stellt sicher, dass die archivierten Daten auffindbar, zugänglich, interoperabel und nachnutzbar sind. AUSSDA leistet unter anderem Beratung zu Datenmanagementplänen und hilft bei Fragen zu Datenzitation, Datenarchivierung und Sekundäranalysen.

Primäre Zielgruppen von AUSSDA sind sozialwissenschaftliche Forschende, Lehrende und Studierende an Universitäten, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen und Fachhochschulen. Darüber hinaus profitieren auch Personen aus dem sekundären Bildungsbereich sowie Medien und die breitere Öffentlichkeit von unseren Angeboten.