Teaching library

Library instruction is provided in different formats in the English and American Studies Library.

  • Library tours are usually available on request (currently unavailable due to Covid-19).
  • Library and information research workshops on different topics for different levels of expertise during classes or in cooperation with academic teachers are being held and new ones are available on request.
  • The (English and American Studies Library Virtual Learning Space) (self-inscription for members of Vienna University with theiru:account) is geared towards students from the English Department, and offers information, learning material and the possibility to ask about information research during the virual office hours (Friday 9:30-10:30 am during the university semesters) und in asynchronous forums.
  • Individual sessions with the librarian, especially for advanced levels, can take place during the research office hours (Friday 9:30-10:30 am during the university semesters, currently only online or by phone) or upon request.

Currently all didactic measures are taking place via e-learning due to Corona-19.

Teaching library

Schulungen und Workshops zur Bibliotheksnutzung, Literatursuche und Informationskompetenz werden in unterschiedlichen Formaten angeboten:

  • Bibliotheksführungen auf Anfrage (momentan auf Grund von Covid-19 ausgesetzt);
  • Bibliotheks- und Rechercheworkshops mit unterschiedlichen thematischen Schwerpunkten in verschiedenen Lehrveranstaltungen oder an der Bibliothek in Kooperation mit Lehrveranstaltungen finden laufend statt; neue Kooperationen gerne auf Anfrage.
  • Der virtuelle Lernraum der Fachbereichsbibliothek auf Moodle (English and American Studies Library Virtual Learning Space, Selbsteinschreibung für Studierende und Mitarbeiter*innen der Universität Wien mit dem u:account) bietet besonders Studierenden der Anglistik Informationen, Lernmaterialien und Möglichkeiten zu Recherchefragen während der virtuellen Sprechstunde (Freitag 9:30-10:30 während des Semesters) und in asynchronen Foren.
  • Einzeltermine sind besonders für Fortgeschrittene während der Recherchesprechstunde der Bibliothekarin (Freitag 9:30-10:30 während des Semesters, momentan nur online oder telefonisch) oder auf Anfrage möglich.

Momentan finden alle diese Formate wegen Corona-19 nur virtuell statt.