Using the library

For general information about library use, please read the library etiquette (Bibliotheksknigge), which includes information about the cloakroom, the use of mobile phones, eating and drinking at the Library, etc.

The Education, Linguistics and Comparative Literature Library is an open-shelf library. This means that you can access the shelves freely, simply take books from the shelves, read them at the reading room, or borrow them (if they may be borrowed) at the lending service.

Items that may be borrowed – items that may not be borrowed

Most books at the Education, Linguistics and Comparative Literature Library may be borrowed. As a general rule, you cannot borrow books that were published before 1911. This also applies to reference works, reserve collections and books shelved in the reference library. Periodicals may not be borrowed as well.

Terms and conditions for borrowing items

You can borrow up to 30 books at any one time. The number of books you have not borrowed yet (requests, reservations, books ready to collect) may not be higher than 10.

You can borrow books for a period of 28 days. You can reserve books that are currently borrowed by someone else. You can renew book loans via the online catalogue, provided that you renew the loan before the end of the loan period.

You will receive an e-mail reminder one week before the loan period ends. Please note: Please make sure that we always know your current e-mail address if you are studying at another university or if you have an annual pass. (You can change your e-mail address in your user account.) Please note: We cannot guarantee that you will receive an e-mail reminder. Therefore, please check your user account independently to see when the copies you borrowed are due for return.

After the loan period has ended, you will receive three overdue reminders in 9-day intervals for which you have to pay reminder fees. If you still fail to return the book(s) after the third reminder, your library account will be blocked and you are unable to borrow any further items. In addition, we will take legal action to reclaim the book(s) you borrowed. If you lose a book you borrowed, you have to replace it in any case.

We keep books ready to collect for 7 days as of the day we prepare them for collection.

You need a valid library card to borrow items.

Logo Universitätsbibliothek Wien Universität Wien Universitätsbibliothek Wien

Benutzung

Grundätzliches zur Bibliotheksbenutzung vor Ort - zu Garderobe, Handys, Essen/Trinken etc. - finden Sie im Bibliotheks-knigge der Fachbereichsbibliothek.

Die Fachbereichsbibliothek ist eine Freihandbibliothek. Das heißt, dass die Regale frei zugänglich sind, Sie die gewünschten Werke selbst herausnehmen können und im Lesesaal lesen oder, wenn sie entlehnbar sind, zur Entlehnung bringen können.

Entlehnbar - Nicht entlehnbar
Die meisten Bücher der Fachbereichsbibliothek sind entlehnbar. Bücher vor 1911 sind grundsätzlich nicht entlehnbar, auch Nachschlagewerke, Handapparate, Werke im Lehrveranstaltungsapparat und in der Präsenzbibliothek sind nicht entlehnbar. Auch Zeitschriften können nicht entlehnt werden.

Entlehnbedingungen

Insgesamt können Sie maximal 25 Bücher entlehnen; die Anzahl Offener Entlehnfälle (Bestellungen, Vormerkungen, Bereitstellungen) liegt bei maximal 10 Stück.

Die Entlehnfrist beträgt 4 Wochen. Vormerkungen auf entlehnte Bücher sind möglich; Verlängerungen können selbsttätig im Online-Katalog durchgeführt werden, wenn sie vor Ablauf der Entlehnfrist getätigt werden.

Erinnerungsschreiben werden eine Woche vor Ablauf der Entlehnfrist per E-Mail an Sie verschickt. Achtung: Wenn Sie an einer anderen Uni studieren oder eine Jahreskarte haben, müssen Sie dafür sorgen, dass Ihre aktuelle E-Mail-Adresse bei uns eingetragen ist (Sie können Ihre E-Mail-Adresse in Ihrem Benutzerkonto selbsttätig aktualisieren). Achtung: Auf Erinnerungsschreiben gibt es keine Garantie, bitte überprüfen Sie daher selbst Ihr Benutzerkonto, wann entlehnte Exemplare fällig werden.

Nach Ablauf der Entlehnfrist ergehen im 9-Tage-Rhythmus 3 gebührenpflichtige Mahnungen. Sollte auch die 3. Mahnung keine Rückgabe der Bücher bewirken, wird die betreffende Person im Entlehnverkehr gesperrt und der Rechtsweg zur Einbringung des Buchgutes beschritten. Verlustig gegangene Bücher müssen in jedem Fall vom Entlehner nachgeschafft werden.

Die Bereitstellungsfrist beträgt 7 Tage ab Bereitstellungsdatum.

Sie benötigen für jeden Entlehnvorgang einen gültigen Bibliotheksausweis. Dieser kann an der Fachbereichsbibliothek zu den Entlehnzeiten gelöst werden.

  • Kontakt
    FB BSVL:

    Tel.: +43-1-4277-16801
  • News
    RSS button