UB-Maps

UB-Maps – The digital map collection of the Geography and Regional Studies Library


Project description:

Maps, in particular old maps, provide essential sources and aids for different disciplines and are unique resources for geospatial research questions. The map collection of the Geography and Regional Studies Library comprises of about 100,000 map sheets. The project aims at cataloguing the collection, making the maps that are not protected by copyright visible and digitally accessible as well as at preserving the collection.

Historically, the map collection goes back to the foundation of the Faculty of Geography at the University of Vienna in the year 1851. In 1890 the Institute Library already had approximately 5,000 sheet maps, 80 wall maps and 115 Atlases. Today, the collection comprises of maps of every part of the world, but with a clear focus on Europe, and in particular Austria and the states of the former Danube Monarchy). Along with historically valuable old maps, the map collection also has all types of current maps (survey maps, thematic maps, city maps, hiking maps… etc).

The maps are catalogued in accordance with the RAK and RDA cataloguing rules and are searchable in the University Library’s catalogue, u:search. They are assigned geographical coordinates (geotagging using Bounding Box), digitised (resolution: 600 dpi) and archived digitally on Phaidra. Maps which are free from copyright protection, are also presented on the University Library’s website. In addition, the project’s participation in an expert portal aims at further increasing the visibility of the collection and at offering spatial and graphical search options. At the end of the project the objects will be placed in acid-free folders and this, along with relocating the historical collection, should ultimately secure the long-term conservation of the original material and preserve it for future generations.


Key figures:

Project Launch: 2013

Status as of 2019: Thus far over 13,000 map sheets have been catalogued and can now be found on u:search. About 7,000 maps have been scanned, 653 of which are available online as individual maps not protected by copyright as well as 35 map series comprising of 225 map sheets. Of these objects 540 have been long-term archived in Phaidra. We are constantly working on uploading and the long-term archiving of further maps.


Digital Copies:

u:search: UB-Maps

Goobi Viewer: UB-Maps
Phaidra: Digitalisierte Karten der Fachbereichsbibliothek Geographie und Regionalforschung

UB-Maps

Die digitale Kartensammlung der Fachbereichsbibliothek Geographie und Regionalforschung


Projektbeschreibung:

Karten, insbesondere Altkarten stellen unverzichtbare Quellen und Hilfsmittel für verschiedene Disziplinen dar und sind einzigartige Informationsträger für raumbezogene Fragestellungen. Die Kartensammlung der Fachbereichsbibliothek Geographie und Regionalforschung an der Universität Wien umfasst geschätzte 100.000 Kartenblätter. Das Projekt UB-Maps hat die Ziele, den Bestand zu katalogisieren, den urheberrechtsfreien Kartenbestand sichtbar und uneingeschränkt digital zugänglich zu machen sowie für die Sammlung bestandserhaltende Maßnahmen zu setzen.

Der Kartenbestand geht historisch bis in die Gründungszeit der Lehrkanzel für Geographie an der Universität Wien im Jahr 1851 zurück. Im Jahre 1890 verfügte die Institutsbibliothek bereits über rund 5.000 Kartenblätter, 80 Wandkarten und 115 Atlanten. Die Sammlung enthält heute Karten aus allen Teilen der Erde, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf dem europäischen Raum liegt (insbesondere Österreich bzw. Länder der Donaumonarchie). Neben historisch wertvollen Altkarten verfügt die Kartensammlung über (aktuelle) Karten aller Art (Landesaufnahmen, thematische Karten, Stadtpläne, Wanderkarten etc.).

Im Rahmen des Projekts werden die Karten zunächst konform der Regelwerke RAK-Karten bzw. RDA katalogisiert und damit via u:search einer Suche zugänglich gemacht. Im Zuge der Katalogisierung werden die Metadaten mittels Bounding Box mit geographischen Koordinaten angereichert. Anschließend werden die Karten mit einer Auflösung von 600 dpi digitalisiert und in Phaidra langzeitarchiviert. Der gemeinfreie Teil des so digitalisierten Bestandes wird im Rahmen des Webauftritts der UB Wien präsentiert. Darüber hinaus wird die Teilnahme an einem Fachportal die Sichtbarkeit in der Öffentlichkeit noch zusätzlich erhöhen und auch eine (geo)graphische, visuelle Suche ermöglichen. Vor Abschluss des Projekts werden die Objekte in säurefreie Mappen umgelagert. Zusammen mit einer Neuaufstellung des historischen Sammlungsbestands soll dies schließlich die langfristige Schonung der Originalmaterialien und den Erhalt für künftige Generationen sicherstellen.

Laufzeit:

Projektstart: 2013

Stand September 2018: Bis dato wurden fast 10.000 Kartenblätter katalogisiert und damit über u:search auffindbar gemacht. Rund 5.500 Karten wurden eingescannt, davon sind derzeit 653 urheberrechtsfreie Einzelkarten online gestellt (https://goobi-viewer.univie.ac.at/viewer/) und 185 Karten in Phaidra langzeitarchiviert (https://phaidra.univie.ac.at/view/o:423816. An der Integration der mehrteiligen Karten bzw. Kartenwerke wird gearbeitet.