Using the Library

General information

The Business, Economics and Mathematics Library is an academic library open to the public offering a lending service. The Vienna University Library regulations apply. This special library is an open-shelf library. You can access almost all shelves freely. You can take the books you are interested in from the shelves and read them in the reading room or, if they may be borrowed, borrow them at the information desk on the ground floor.

Cloakroom

You are obliged to leave your belongings in the cloakroom. You can use the lockers to store your jackets, bags, etc. Locker keys are available at the information desk once your have presented your library card. If you do not have a library card, we also accept a valid photo ID card as a deposit.

Study spaces / lounge

There are 135 study spaces in the reading room. They all offer Wi-Fi access and power sockets. In addition, we offer cosy sofas and lounge furniture.

Study break cards

If you leave your desk, please fill out a study break card and specify the current time. You have 45 minutes time before you have to return to your desk. After 45 minutes, other users may occupy the study space. If you leave your desk without completing a study break card, other users may occupy the study space as well.
This rule aims at preventing people from reserving study spaces for hours without actually using them. Please act responsibly and use the study break cards.

Computer room and research PCs

A computer room is located on the first basement floor. It offers 18 computer workstations. In addition, there are 6 research workstations in the Library, which allow you to search the online catalogue and use electronic resources.

Copying / scanning

A u:print device and a high-quality book scanner (free of charge, you need a flash drive) are located on the 1st basement floor. To use the copier and the u:print device, you need a Facultas copy card. Facultas copy cards are available at the Facultas shop at Oskar-Morgenstern-Platz.

Group study room

Two group study rooms with 10 study spaces each are located on the first basement floor. You can reserve the group study rooms (for groups of at least 5 persons) at the information desk.

Benützung

Die Fachbereichsbibliothek Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Mathematik ist eine öffentlich zugängliche wissenschaftliche Entlehnbibliothek. Es gilt die Benützungsordnung für die Bibliotheken der Universität Wien. Die Fachbereichsbibliothek ist eine Freihandbibliothek. Fast alle Regale sind frei zugänglich. Sie können die gewünschten Werke selbst aus den Regalen nehmen und im Lesesaal lesen oder, sofern sie entlehnbar sind, zur Entlehnung an den Informationsschalter im Erdgeschoß bringen.

Garderobepflicht

In der gesamten Fachbereichsbibliothek herrscht Garderobepflicht. Am Infoschalter erhalten Sie gegen Vorlage Ihres Bibliotheksausweises einen Schlüssel für ein Kästchen, in welches Sie Ihre Taschen, Jacken,... versperren können. Sollten Sie keinen Bibliotheksausweis haben, akzeptieren wir einen gültigen Lichtbildausweis als Pfand.

Leseplätze / Lounge

Im Lesesaal stehen 135 Leseplätze mit WLAN und Steckdosen zur Verfügung. Zusätzlich gibt es gemütliche Sofa-und Loungemöbel.

Pausenuhren

Beim Verlassen Ihres Arbeitsplatzes stellen Sie bitte die aktuelle Uhrzeit ein. Sie haben danach 45 Minuten Zeit, auf Ihren Platz zurückzukehren. Nach Ablauf dieser Frist kann eine andere Nutzerin oder ein anderer Nutzer Ihren Platz einnehmen. Der Platz gilt ebenfalls als freigegeben, wenn er verlassen wurde und keine Pausenuhr verwendet wird.

Die neue Regelung soll das stundenlange Reservieren von Leseplätzen ohne Anwesenheit der Benutzer verhindern. Im Sinne der Fairness im Umgang mit Ihren Studienkolleg/inn/en: nützen Sie diese Möglichkeit!

PC-Raum und Recherche-PCs

Im ersten Untergeschoß befindet sich ein PC-Raum, ausgestattet mit 18 PC-Arbeitsplätzen. Zusätzlich gibt es in der Bibliothek 5 Recherche-Geräte für die Recherche im Online-Katalog und zur Nutzung des elektronischen Angebots der Bibliothek.

Kopier-/Scanmöglichkeit

Im ersten Untergeschoß stehen ein Kopiergerät, ein u:print-Gerät und ein hochwertiger Buchscanner (kostenlose Bedienung, USB-Stick erforderlich) zur Verfügung. Die für den Kopierer und das u:print-Gerät notwendigen Facultas-Kopierkarten erhalten Sie im Facultas-Shop am Oskar-Morgenstern-Platz.

Gruppenarbeitsraum

Im 1. Untergeschoß befinden sich zwei Gruppenarbeitsräume (jeweils 10 Arbeitsplätze). Diese können direkt am Informationsschalter (ab einer Gruppenanzahl von mindestens 5 Personen) reserviert werden.