E-Books on Demand. © Universität Wien / Franz Pflügl

E-Books on Demand (EOD)

Our offer

You can request the digitisation of any book from the holdings of the University Library, as long as it is no longer protected by copyright (70 years after the author’s death) and in a good condition that allows for a digitisation. We only digitise complete media units (volumes) from cover to cover.

The book you requested will be scanned in high resolution. After the scanning process, we process books published as of 1801 using optical character recognition software (OCR without correction of errors). You can also request books published before 1801 whose full text has been processed using OCR. However, the quality may not be as high. Finally, the images of the individual pages are compiled into a single PDF file.


Availability

The EOD service is available via the search engine u:search and the Nominalkatalog der Hauptbibliothek (author index of the Main Library), which provides access to most of the library holdings that are no longer protected by copyright. Please use the EOD button in the relevant catalogue to request a book as an e-book. You will be redirected to an order form, which you can use either to request a non-binding estimate of costs or to directly place an order.

The EOD network also operates a search engine. It allows you to find and order any books that are available as e-books from the holdings of the participating libraries.

Give it a try:


Costs and delivery

You pay for the digitisation just like for any other document delivery service. The following rates apply (as of January 2019):

  • Basic price: € 10,-
  • Price per page (without OCR): EUR 0.12
    Price per page (with OCR): EUR 0.16
  • Information for employees of the University of Vienna is available on the university intranet (log-in required).
    https://intra.univie.ac.at/themen-a-z/initiale/e/thema/e-books-on-demand/ 
  • Data storage medium and shipping (not applicable if delivered via download)
    • EUR 6.00 (Europe)
    • EUR 8.00 (rest of the world)
  • Data storage medium when collected by the customer: EUR 5.00

Once the book has been digitised, you will receive an e-mail telling you to choose a payment method

You can pay online via credit card (American Express, Diners Club, JCB, Mastercard, Visa) or via ClickandBuy. If you have a valid library card of the Vienna University Library you can also choose to pay in cash at the library: The costs for the digitisation will be charged to your account and can be paid either at the Main Library (lending service, inter-library loan, textbook collection) or at any of the special libraries that offer an online lending service. As soon as we have received your payment, you will be able to download the e-book or we send the e-book to you on a data storage medium.


Advantages of an e-book

You can view the original pages of the digitised book and enlarge them. All you need is a PDF reader. You can print the PDF file as often as you like. In addition, you save time because you do not have to go to the library. OCR provides a huge added value: You can search the full text of the e-book for any key words, and copy and paste any passages into other programmes.

All e-books digitised at the Vienna University Library are made publicly available via Phaidra worldwide and for free. You can find an overview of the e-books currently available on Phaidra at http://phaidra.univie.ac.at/o:3523

E-Books on Demand. © Universität Wien / Franz Pflügl

E-Books on Demand (EOD)

Das Angebot

Sie können eine Digitalisierung jedes Buches aus dem Bestand der Universitätsbibliothek in Auftrag geben, das urheberrechtsfrei ist (70 Jahre nach dem Tod des Verfassers bzw. der Verfasserin) und dessen Zustand eine Digitalisierung erlaubt. Digitalisiert werden ausschließlich komplette Medieneinheiten (Bände) - from cover to cover.

Ihr gewünschtes Buch wird sorgfältig mit hoher Auflösung gescannt. Nach dem Scannen wird bei Büchern mit einem Erscheinungsdatum ab 1801 ein Verfahren zur automatischen Texterkennung (OCR ohne Korrektur) angewendet. Auch Bücher, die vor 1801 erschienen sind, können mit automatisch erkanntem Volltext bestellt werden, wobei nicht die gleiche Qualität bei der Texterkennung zu erwarten ist. Anschließend werden die Seitenbilder zu einer einzigen Datei im PDF-Format zusammengeführt.


Verfügbarkeit

Das EOD-Service wird über die Suchmaschine u:search und den Nominalkatalog der Hauptbibliothek, über den der Großteil des urheberrechtsfreien Bestandes der Bibliothek verfügbar ist, angeboten. Verwenden Sie zur Bestellung eines Werkes als E-Book den Button mit EOD-Logo im jeweiligen Katalog. Sie gelangen zu einem Bestellformular, mit dem Sie einen unverbindlichen Kostenvoranschlag anfordern bzw. eine Direktbestellung aufgeben können.

Das EOD Netzwerk betreibt weiters eine gemeinsame Suchmaschine, in der Sie alle als EOD E-Book bestellbaren Bestände der Netzwerkpartner finden und ebenfalls direkt bestellen können.

Probieren Sie es einfach aus:


Kosten & Lieferung

Wie bei einem Document Delivery Service zahlen Sie für das Service. Es gelten folgende Preise (Stand Jänner 2015):

  • Basispreis: € 10,-
  • Pro Seite ohne Texterkennung: € 0,12
    Pro Seite mit Texterkennung: € 0,16
  • Sonderpreis für Angehörige der Universität Wien
    pro Seite € 0,12 (mit Texterkennung)
  • Datenträger und Postversand (entfällt bei Lieferung per Download)
    • € 6,- (Europa)
    • € 8,- (weltweit)
  • Datenträger bei Selbstabholung € 5,-

Nach Abschluss der Digitalisierung erhalten Sie per E-Mail die Aufforderung zur Wahl der gewünschten Zahlungsart.

Die Bezahlung kann online über Kreditkarte (American Express, Diners Club, JCB, Mastercard, Visa) oder über ClickandBuy erfolgen. BenutzerInnen der Universitätsbibliothek Wien mit gültigem Bibliotheksausweis können auch vor Ort bar bezahlen: der Ausweis wird mit den Kosten für die Digitalisierung belastet, die Begleichung der Gebühren kann an der Hauptbibliothek (Entlehnung, Fernleihe, Lehrbuchsammlung) sowie an jeder Fachbereichsbibliothek, die Online-Entlehnung anbietet, erfolgen. Im Anschluss an die Bezahlung steht das E-Book zum Download bereit bzw. erhalten Sie auf Wunsch das E-Book auf Datenträger per Post zugesandt.


Vorteile des E-Books

Sie können die Originalseiten des digitalisierten Werkes in vergrößerter Darstellung auf dem Bildschirm betrachten, für die Anzeige benötigen Sie lediglich Ihren PDF-Reader. Die PDF-Datei kann wiederholt ausgedruckt werden. Weiters ersparen Sie sich die Anreise zur Bibliothek. Großen Mehrwert bietet die automatische Texterkennung (OCR): Das E-Book kann im Volltext nach beliebigen Stichwörtern durchsucht werden, die Inhalte von Textpassagen sind per Copy & Paste in andere Programme übertragbar.

Die an der UB Wien erstellten E-Books werden nach einer Sperrfrist in Phaidra weltweit frei zur Verfügung gestellt. Einen Überblick über die bisher zur Verfügung stehenden E-Books finden Sie unter http://phaidra.univie.ac.at/o:3523