Locating Library Items

In order to locate library items, readers need to find out the item's call number and the location of the shelves with this call number. To do so readers need to look up the item in the Library's media search engine u:search.

Open access (Freihandaufstellung): most library items can be picked up from the library shelves. After use in the library without loan they should be reshelved according to their shelf marks. Where exactly our open access shelves are located in the library can be learned from the signposts and maps in the library.

Closed stacks ("Magazin") items are mostly non-book materials or rare and old materials. Such items must be ordered via u:search. The ordered items can be collected from the information desk the next day or, if you have placed a hold on a borrowed item, when the borrower has returned the loan. In the latter case you will be notified by e-mail. They can be collected from the information desk for a week before they are returned the closed stacks or made available to the next reader who has placed a hold.

Closed stacks items are retrieved from the closed stacks every day before we open the Library.

Reserve shelf items ("Semesterhandapparate", "Lehrveranstaltungsliteratur", "Course Reading") are items that have been placed on a special shelf under the surname of a university teacher for a semester or more because they have been deemed to be essential to university courses. These items are not loanable in order to allow access by as many students as possible. There are three separate locations for this kind of media, in the open access lower and upper floor levels and at the counter. The location information in u:search will reveal, which of these locations a particular item has.

Bücher und andere Medien in der Bibliothek finden

Um Bücher und andere Medien in der Bibliothek zu finden, muss man ihre Signatur und ihren Standort identifizieren. Dazu verwendet man die Suchmaschine der Universitätsbibliothek, u:search.

Freihandaufstellung: Die meisten Bücher können selbst vom Regal der Biblothek geholt werden. (Nach Verwendung ohne Entlehnung bitte wieder richtig ins Regal stellen!) Wo genau sich die entsprechenden Regale in der Bibliothek befinden, kann der Ausschilderung und den Plänen in der Bibliothek entnommen werden..

Magazinswerke ("Magazin") sind in der Hauptsache Medien wie CDs oder DVDs oder alte Werke. Diese Exemplare müssen mit Hilfe von u:search vorbestellt werden. Die bestellten Exemplare können am Schalter einen Tag später abgeholt werden, oder, falls es sich um eine Vormerkung handelt, sobald das entlehnte Exemplar wieder an der Bibliothek ist. Im zweiten Fall erhalten Sie eine Benachrichtigung per E-Mail. Bereitgestellte Exemplare werden am Schalter eine Woche lang aufgehoben bevor sie wieder ins Magazin rückgestellt oder für den nächsten Entlehner/die nächste Entlehnerin bereitgestellt werden.

Magazinswerke werden Montag bis Freitag einmal pro Tag, bevor die Biblitohek öffnet, ausgehoben.

Lehrveranstaltungsliteratur für Kurse "Semesterhandapparate", "Lehrveranstaltungsliteratur", "Course Reading") befindet sich semesterweise in einer Sonderaufstellung unter dem Nachnamen des Lehrveranstaltungsleiters/der Lehrveranstaltungsleiterin. Diese Werke sind nicht entlehnbar, damit sie von möglichst vielen Studierenden genutzt werden können. Es gibt drei verschiedene Standorte für Lehrveranstaltungsliteratur, im Erdgeschoss, im ersten Stock und am Schalter. Die Information, wo genau sich bestimmte Lehrveranstaltungsliteratur befindet, ist mit Hilfe von u:search zu finden.