Reading rooms


Important Notice

  • Due to the limited seating capacity, the main reading room can only be used by students of the University of Vienna. A seat reservation is mandatory: Reservation
  • In the catalogue rooms some seats can be booked by all users with an u:account for brief research. A seat reservation is mandatory: Reservation
  • The reading room for old and valuable books can only be used to consult non-borrowable, non-digitizable unique holdings. A seat reservation is mandatory: Reservation

You are obliged to leave your coats and jackets at the cloakroom. Please store your bags (including laptop cases), coats and jackets in the lockers. You are not allowed to bring food and drinks into the reading rooms. Please keep your mobile phone in silent mode.


Catalogue room

The catalogue room includes library catalogues from the old stock of the University Library as well as different general and subject-specific reference works. This includes primarily bibliographies, biographical reference works and encyclopaedias.

The first reading room is equipped with 18 PCs of the Vienna University Computer Center (ZID). After logging in via their u:account, members of the University of Vienna can use these PCs to access different programmes. Moreover, the room features a coin-operated copier, a u:print printing device (u:card required) and a book scanner (flash drive required).


Reading room for old books (Lesesaal Altes Buch)

In this reading room, you can use books that were published more than 100 years ago (with the exception of books from the location Teinfaltstrasse), books with the note “A-Magazin”, rare books with the shelf mark addition “E.S.” or “ES-Magazin”, as well as large books (III, IV, V, VI).

You can request books that are subject to usage restrictions via u:search. The “Special Request” tab allows you to order books that have not yet been catalogued in u:search. We will notify you as soon as the books are ready to use at the reading room for old books.

You are obliged to leave your coats and jackets at the cloakroom. You have to store all your bags (including laptop cases), coats and jackets in the lockers. You are not allowed to bring food and drinks into the reading room for old books. Please keep your mobile phone in silent mode.


Wi-Fi

All students and employees of the University of Vienna who have a valid u:account can access the University’s Wi-Fi network in all reading rooms. To establish a Wi-Fi connection, make sure that your laptop is configured via DHCP and select the eduroam network.

Lesesäle


Wichtiger Hinweis

  • Studierenden der Universität Wien stehen Leseplätze im Großen Lesesaal und im Katalogsaal der Hauptbibliothek zur Verfügung. Aufgrund der Covid-19-Situation ist die Platzanzahl beschränkt. Eine Platzreservierung ist unbedingt erforderlich.
  • Allen Nutzer*innen stehen im Katalogsaal Rechercheplätze zur Verfügung - insbesondere für die Nutzung von e-Ressourcen für Personen ohne Fernzugriff. Ebenso kann ausgedruckt, kopiert oder gescannt werden. Aufgrund der Covid-19-Situation sind die Plätze beschränkt. Eine Platzreservierung ist unbedingt erforderlich.
  • Der Lesesaal Altes Buch steht derzeit ausschließlich zur Nutzung nicht entlehnbarer, nicht digitalisierbarer unikaler Bestände zur Verfügung. Eine Platzreservierung ist erforderlich.

Im Großen Lesesaal gilt Garderobepflicht. Bitte sperren Sie Taschen (auch Laptoptaschen), Mäntel und Jacken in den Garderobekästchen ein. Das Mitnehmen von Speisen und Getränken ist nicht erlaubt. Bitte schalten Sie Ihr Handy lautlos.


Katalogsaal

Im Katalogsaal befinden sich sowohl Bibliothekskataloge für den Altbestand der UB Wien als auch zahlreiche allgemeine und fachspezifische Nachschlagewerke. Dabei handelt es sich primär um Bibliographien, biographische Nachschlagewerke als auch Enzyklopädien.

Im ersten Raum befinden sich 18 PCs des Zentralen Informatikdienstes für Angehörige der Universität Wien, die nach Login mit dem u:account Zugriff auf verschiedene Programme bieten. Ebenso stehen dort ein Münzkopierer, ein u:print Drucker (u:card notwendig) und ein Buchscanner (USB-Stick notwendig) zur Verfügung.


Lesesaal Altes Buch

Dieser Lesesaal dient der Benützung von Büchern, die vor mehr als 100 Jahren erschienen sind (außer Standort Teinfaltstraße), Büchern mit dem Vermerk "A-Magazin", Rara mit dem Signaturzusatz "E.S." bzw. "ES-Magazin" sowie Großformaten (III, IV, V, VI).

Die Bestellung von Werken mit Benützungseinschränkungen erfolgt in u:search. Bücher, die noch nicht in u:search erfasst wurden, können Sie über die Funktion "Altbestand" bestellen. Sobald die Bücher für Sie im Lesesaal Altes Buch zur Verfügung stehen, werden Sie benachrichtigt.

Im Lesesaal Altes Buch gilt strenge Garderobepflicht. Alle Taschen (auch Laptoptaschen), Mäntel und Jacken müssen in den Garderobekästchen versperrt werden. Das Mitnehmen von Speisen und Getränken ist nicht erlaubt. Bitte schalten Sie Ihr Handy lautlos. Garderobeschlüssel erhalten Sie beim Informationsschalter im Lesesaal Altes Buch.


WLAN

In allen Lesesälen steht Studierenden und Mitarbeiter*innen der Universität Wien mit gültigem u:account ein Wireless LAN zur Verfügung. Um es zu benützen, stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr Laptop für Netzwerkverbindungen via DHCP konfiguriert ist und wählen Sie das Netzwerk eduroam.