Library Overview


Library Areas

Wardrobe

As in all libraries of the University of Vienna it is mandatory to deposit bags, coats, jackets, etc. in a wardrobe. You can only enter the library using a transparent bag or without any bags at all. Before entering the library you will receive a key to the lockers where you can store your personal belongings.

Information Desk

At the information desk you will receive help with your questions and requests. Here you also receive your locker keys, collect placed orders and return loaned items. Our AV-Media can also be found at the information desk.

Reading space by the information desk

Here you can find:

  • Reference works (dictionaries, lexicons, statistics, …)
  • Dissertations Japanese Studies
  • Reserve shelves of Korean Studies, Japanese Studies and ECOS (the reserve shelf of the Chinese Studies can be found inside the Chinese Studies section)
  • New acquisitions: print monographies of Korean Studies, Japanese Studies and ECOS
  • Location “general Eastern Asia"
  • 2 PCs accessible for research (east-asian language typing not supported)
  • 6 workspaces
Reading spaces at the glass-front

Here you can find:

  • Reference works (Chinese Studies)
  • Book-scanner
  • 3 PCs
  • 14 reading-/workspaces
Open access

The holdings of the Library of Eastern Studies is, for the largest part, openly accessible. All printed works are separately stored according to the three departments comprising the Department of East Asian Studies: Japanese Studies, Chinese Studies, Korean Studies and an additional section about Eastern Asia in general. Each section in turn is sorted according to themes. An overview of the shelf marks and their locations can be found opposite of the information desk and at the beginning of each section respectively.

Japanese Studies: Compact shelving unit and gallery
  • The shelf mark (PDF in German) in the Japanese Studies section is comprised of a four-digit code that indicates the theme and the first four letters of the author’s name. (i.e. shelf mark author, e.g. 1936 DANE)
  • Shelved according to themes and authors. Japanese and Western language works are shelved separately in some sections.
  • Here you can find:
    • Monographies
    • Some journals and newspapers are not in the regular compact shelving unit but directly on the ground-floor level of the Japanese Studies section (these items can be located using u:search).
    • 10 workspaces
Chinese Studies: Ground-level shelves and gallery
  • The shelf mark (PDF in German) in the Chinese Studies section is comprised of the numbers of each particular theme and its subcategories, and the continuous numbering of the books (i.e. number of theme. subcatebory- contiuous number, e.g. 1.2.2-123). Holdings in Chinese language are marked by a preceding C in the shelf mark.
  • Sorted continuously and according to themes. English and German language literature is stored separately from publications in Chinese.
  • Here you can find:
    • Monographies
    • Dissertations
    • 5 workspaces
Korean Studies: Compact shelving unit and gallery
  • The shelf mark (PDF in German) in the Korean Studies section is comprised of the numbers of each particular theme and the continuous numbering of the books (i.e. theme-contiuous number, e.g. 1234-23).
  • Sorted continuously and according to themes.
  • Here you can find:
    • Monographies
    • Dissertations (Shelved together with other publications according to their theme)
    • 3 workspaces
Journal-compact shelving unit Japanese and Korean Studies

In addition to open acces monographies you can find one journal-compact shelving unit each for Japanese- and Chinese-Studies journals. Both are open acces. However, all newspapers and magazines are not loanable and can therefore be only used locally.

Archive

The archive is not open access and the holdings contained are not loanable. It is however possible to place an order for the holdings over u:search and use it on site. Should you require one of the holdings from the archive (“Closed Stacks: Archive”) please contact staff at the information desk.

Audio-visual media (AV-Media)

AV-media/non-book-media such as DVDs and CDs can be loaned for 7 days. They are not open access and have to be ordered via u:search for pick-up at the information desk. If you want to use AV-media stored in “Closed Stacks: AV Media” you can also talk to staff at the information desk directly.

Reading- and workspaces

In addition to the reading spaces in each department’s section you can find some seats next to the information desk and at the glass front.

Reserve shelves

The reserve shelves (sometimes also called “course reading”) can be found on the left back side of the reading section. For Chinese Studies, it is located directly on the ground floor of the department’s section.

The reserve shelves represent a temporary collection of works which lecturers have chosen as literature for a particular course. Because they are meant for the students of the respective courses, they are either not loanable or only loanable over the weekend (Fr. 12:00-Mo.12:00) or during weekdays until 12:00 of the following day at most.


Additional information:

  • Information about services and library infrastructure can be found under: Services and Library Infrastructure
  • An overview over the possibility to loan our holdings can be found here, under the chart titled Loan.

Räumliche Übersicht


Übersichtsplan

Raumplan der Fachbereichsbibliothek Ostasienwissenschaften

Bereiche innerhalb der Bibliothek

Garderobe

Bitte beachten Sie die Garderobenpflicht. Die Bibliothek darf nur mit einer durchsichtigen Bibliothekstasche oder ganz ohne Taschen, Rucksäcke etc. betreten werden. Das Mitnehmen von Speisen und Getränken in die Bibliothek ist nicht erlaubt, nur Wasserflaschen dürfen mitgenommen werden. Beim Eintreten in die Bibliothek erhalten Sie am Infoschalter einen Schlüssel für ein Garderobenkästchen, um Jacke, Taschen und Speisen und Getränke zu verstauen.

Infoschalter

Beim Infoschalter erhalten Sie Auskunft auf Fragen oder Anliegen. Außerdem erhalten Sie hier Schlüssel für die Garderobenkästchen, können bereitgestelle Medien abholen und entlehnte Werke retournieren.

Lesezone beim Infoschalter

Hier befinden sich:

  • Nachschlagewerke Japanologie (Wörterbücher, Lexika, Statistiken, …)
  • Hochschulschriften Japanologie
  • Handapparate Koreanologie, Japanologie und ECOS (Handapparat der Sinologie direkt im Sinologie-Bereich)
  • Neuerwerbungen Print-Monografien Koreanologie, Japanologie und ECOS
  • Standort "Ostasien allgemein"
  • 2 Recherchecomputer des ZID (Das Tippen ostasiatischer Schriften wird leider nicht unterstützt)
  • 6 Leseplätze
Leseplätze bei der Glasfront

Hier befinden sich:

  • Nachschlagewerke Sinologie
  • Buchscanner
  • 3 Arbeitscomputer
  • 14 Leseplätze
Freihand-Aufstellung

Der Bestand der FB OAW ist größtenteils frei zugänglich aufgestellt. Die Werke sind nach den Fachrichtungen (Japanologie, Sinologie, Koreanologie und Ostasien Allgemein) getrennt aufgestellt. Die einzelnen Fachrichtungen sind wiederum nach Themengebieten sortiert. Eine Übersicht der Aufstellungssystematiken (Signaturensysteme) aller Fachbereiche finden Sie im Eingangsbereich gegenüber des Infoschalters und jeweils am Beginn des jeweiligen Fachbereichs.

Japanologie: Kompaktus und Galerie
  • Die Signatur besteht in der Japanologie aus einem Zifferncode, der das jeweilige Themengebiet beschreibt und den ersten 4 Buchstaben des*r Autors*in (also Themenstandort Autor*in, z.B.: 1936 DANE)
  • Nach Themengebieten und Autor*in sortiert. Teilweise ist nicht-japanischsprachige Literatur getrennt von originalsprachigen Werken aufgestellt.
  • Hier befinden sich:
    • Monografien
    • Manche Zeitschriften befinden sich nicht im regulären Zeitschriften-Kompaktus sondern direkt im Japanologie-Monografien-Kompaktus. Den Hinweis darauf finden Sie auf u:search.
    • 10 Leseplätze
Sinologie: ebenerdige Aufstellung und Galerie
  • Die Signatur besteht in der Sinologie aus einem Zifferncode, der das jeweilige Themengebiet beschreibt und dessen Unterpunkten, sowie einer fortlaufenden Nummerierung des Buches (also Themengebiet mit Unterpunkten-Fortlaufende Nummerierung, z.B.: 1.2.2-123). Originalsprachige Literatur wird mit einem vorangestellten C - in der Signatur gekennzeichnet.
  • Nach Themengebieten mit Unterpunkten und fortlaufend sortiert. Nicht-chinesischsprachige Literatur steht getrennt von originalsprachigen Werken aufgestellt.
  • Hier befinden sich:
    • Monographien
    • Hochschulschriften
    • 5 Leseplätze
Koreanologie: Kompaktus und Galerie
  • Die Signatur besteht in der Koreanologie aus einem Zifferncode, welcher das jeweilige Themengebiet beschreibt und einer fortlaufenden Nummerierung der Bücher (also Themenstandort-Fortlaufende Nummerierung, z.B.: 1234-23)
  • Nach Themengebieten und fortlaufend sortiert.
  • Hier befinden sich:
    • Monographien
    • Hochschulschriften (Thematisch in Bestand einsortiert)
    • 3 Leseplätze
Zeitschriften-Kompaktus Japanologie und Sinologie

Zusätzlich zu den Monografie-Aufstellungen gibt es auch jeweils eine Kompaktregalanlage für die japanologischen und sinologischen Zeitschriften. Diese sind ebenfalls frei zugänglich. Print-Zeitschriften der Koreanologie befinden sich direkt bei der Monografie-Aufstellung Koreanologie (Kompaktus). Print-Zeitschriften sind nicht entlehnbar. Sie stehen Leser*innen daher zur Vor-Ort-Nutzung zur Verfügung.

Archiv

Das Archiv ist nicht frei zugänglich. Hier befinden sich die alten und wertvollen Bestände unserer FB, daher sind die Werke zum Zweck der Bestandsschonung nicht entlehnbar. Sie können über u:search bestellt und vor Ort benützt werden. Wollen Sie ein Buch vom Standort "Magazin: Archiv" benutzen, können Sie sich auch direkt an unsere Mitarbeiter*innen am Schalter wenden.

Audio-Visuelle-Medien (AV-Medien)

AV-Medien/Non-Book-Material wie DVDs und CDs sind 7 Werktage entlehnbar. Sie sind für Benutzer*innen nicht frei zugänglich, sondern müssen über u:search bestellt und am Schalter abgeholt werden. Wollen Sie ein Medium vom Standort "Magazin: AV-Medien" benutzen, können Sie sich auch direkt an unsere Mitarbeiter*innen am Schalter wenden.

Lese- und Arbeitsplätze

Zusätzlich zu den Leseplätzen in den einzelnen Fachbereichen gibt es Sitzplätze in der Lesezone direkt beim Infoschalter und an der Glasfront.

Handapparate

Die Handapparate der Japanologie, Koreanologie und ECOS befinden sich in der Lesezone beim Infoschalter. Der der Sinologie direkt im ebenerdigen Monografiebereich der Sinologie.

Handapparate stellen eine temporäre Sammlung an Büchern dar, die Lehrende der Universität Wien als Literatur für eine bestimmte Lehrveranstaltung ausgewählt haben. Diese Bücher sind nicht, bzw. nur übers Wochenende (Fr. 12:00-Mo.12:00) oder Wochentags von 12:00 bis maximal 12:00 des Folgetags entlehnbar, sodass der Zugriff auf die entsprechenden Werke für Besucher*innen der entsprechenden Lehrveranstaltungen gewährleistet ist.


Weiterführende Hinweise:

  • Infos zur Ausstattung der Bibliothek finden Sie unter dem Punkt Services und Ausstattung.
  • Eine Übersicht zur Entlehnbarkeit unserer Medien finden Sie unter dem Punkt Entlehnung.