Bibliometric Services for Researchers at the University of Vienna


Basic Training

Aim & Description:

This basic training involves essential instructions or tutorials in which the most important citation databases like Scopus and Web of Science Core Collection are introduced. You learn how to access these databases, how to search for relevant information efficiently, how to carry out simple, but correct, citation analyses, how to set up individual alerts, and how to customize all functions according to your personal requirements and preferences.

Target Group(s) and Availability:

These courses can be attended by all interested target groups either as learning units at predetermined times or on demand.
Some trainings take place regularly as part of the workshop programme of the Center for Doctoral Studies (http://forschung.univie.ac.at/services/trainings/doktorandinnen/ ) or as part of the Library and Information Studies curriculum (http://bibliothek.univie.ac.at/ulg/ ).

For further information, please contact:
bibliometrie@univie.ac.at


Individual Consultation

Aim & Description:

We offer general recommendations for increasing the visibility (use of identifiers, alert services, efficient use of Web 2.0 tools ) and optimisation of publication strategies (use of suitable data sources, selection criteria for appropriate publication channels, etc.).
We create individual bibliometric profiles, which shed light on the effects of the researcher’s publication output. These profiles include aspects on activity, visibility, impact, cooperation and area of specialisation (research focus). Furthermore, reference analyses provide information about the knowledge base in a particular research field.

Target Group(s) and Availability:

Young and senior scientists. Additionally, we can gladly carry out publication strategy workshops at faculty or research group level.

For further information, please contact:
bibliometrie@univie.ac.at

Bibliometrische Services für Forschende der Universität Wien


Grundlegende Schulungen

Ziel & Beschreibung:

Es handelt sich um grundlegende Trainings oder Tutorials, in denen die wichtigsten Zitationsdatenbanken wie Scopus und Web of Science Core Collection vorgestellt werden. Sie lernen wie Sie Zugang zur Datenbank bekommen, wie Sie auf effiziente Weise relevante Informationen suchen, wie Sie einfache aber korrekte Zitationsanalysen durchführen, und wie Sie alle Funktionalitäten gemäß Ihren persönlichen Anforderungen und Vorlieben einstellen können.

Zielgruppe(n) und Verfügbarkeit:

Diese Kurse können entweder auf Anfrage oder als zeitlich festgesetzte Lerneinheiten von allen interessierten Zielgruppen besucht werden.
Manche Trainings finden regelmäßig im Rahmen des Workshop-Programmes des DoktorandInnenzentrums  oder des Library and Information Studies Curriculums  statt.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
bibliometrie@univie.ac.at


Individuelle Beratung

Ziel & Beschreibung:

Wir bieten allgemeine Empfehlungen zur Sichtbarkeitssteigerung (Benutzung von Identifikatoren, Alert Services, effiziente Verwendung von Web 2.0 Tools) und zur Optimierung von Publikationsstrategien (Nutzung von geeigneten Datenquellen, Selektionskriterien für geeignete Publikationskanäle, etc.).
Wir erstellen individuelle bibliometrische Profile, die über die Auswirkungen der Publikationsleistung des Forschenden Aufschluss geben. Diese Profile beinhalten Aktivität, Sichtbarkeit, Impact, Kooperation und Fokusanalysen als Aspekte. Darüber hinaus informieren Referenzenanalysen über die Wissensbasis im Forschungsfeld.

Zielgruppe(n) und Verfügbarkeit:

JungwissenschafterInnen und Senior Scientists.
Gerne führen wir auch Publikationsstrategie-Workshops auf Fakultäts- oder Forschungsgruppen-Ebene durch.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
bibliometrie@univie.ac.at