OpenAIRE - Open Access Infrastructure for Research in Europe

 

OpenAIRE. © OpenAIRE

OpenAIRE

OpenAIRE is a pan-European research information system, which provides services to discover, store, link and analyse research output from all disciplines. Dec. 2009 the OpenAIRE project started within the FP7 programme (European Union’s Research and Innovation funding programme). Nine years of work later, January 2018 will mark the beginning of its fourth project phase.

OpenAIRE aims to support the implementation of the European Commission’s (EC) and European Research Council’s guidelines concerning the promotion and funding of science and research. OpenAIRE supports the open access mandate and the Open Research Data Pilot in Horizon 2020.

After the initialisation of the OpenAIRE-portal in 2010 it was possible for the first time to depict EU-funded projects and their scientific output as a whole and present it to the public.

The way OpenAIRE works?

OpenAIRE works as a pan-European meta-repository with more than 60 partner institutes from all European countries and beyond. In all countries of the European Union, in Switzerland, Norway, Serbia, Iceland and Turkey are local contact points established, so called National Open Access Desks (NOADs), which are representing OpenAIRE, answer questions and disseminate topic related information.

As one of the most important European e-infrastructures OpenAIRE will be in the position to be a weightier distributor to the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC). The cloud will provide open access to digital functionalities, resources and competences for researchers of all disciplines. You will find more information, concerning the OpenAIRE services for researchers, data-providers, national contact points, or research services and funders, on the website of the project at https://www.openaire.eu

OpenAIRE - Open Access Infrastructure for Research in Europe

 

OpenAIRE. © OpenAIRE

OpenAIRE

OpenAIRE ist ein paneuropäisches Forschungsinformationssystem mit Diensten zum Auffinden, Speichern, Verlinken und Analysieren von Forschungsresultaten über alle Disziplinen hinweg. 2009 startete OpenAIRE als Projekt im FP7 Programm (Forschungs- und Innovations- Förderprogramm der Europäischen Union), nach weiteren zwei Projektperioden beginnt die vierte Etappe im Jänner 2018.

Ziel ist die Förderung und Umsetzung der Richtlinien der Europäischen Kommission (EC) und des Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC) im Bereich Wissenschaft- bzw. Forschungsförderung. OpenAIRE unterstützt das Open Access Mandat und den Open Research Data Piloten in Horizon 2020.

Durch die Initialisierung des OpenAIRE-Portals 2010 wurde es erstmals möglich EU-geförderte Projekte mit dem entstandenen Output in einem aggregierten Gesamten darzustellen und öffentlich zu präsentieren. In einem weiteren wichtigen Schritt wurde das europäische Repositorium ZENODO in Kooperation mit der Europäischen Organisation für Kernforschung CERN aufgebaut und den WissenschaftlerInnen als Allround-Repository zur Verfügung gestellt.

Wie funktioniert OpenAIRE?

OpenAIRE funktioniert als europaweites Metarepositorium mit über 60 Partnerinstitutionen aus allen EU-Ländern und weit darüber hinaus. In allen Ländern der Europäischen Union sowie in der Schweiz, Norwegen, Serbien, Island und der Türkei, gibt es lokale AnsprechpartnerInnen, National Open Access Desks, oder kurz NOADs, die OpenAIRE im jeweiligen Land nach außen vertreten, Fragen beantworten, Informationen weiterleiten oder an andere Stellen gezielt verweisen können.

Als wichtigste europäische e-Infrastruktur für Open Science wird OpenAIRE einen wertvollen Beitrag zur European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) liefern. Die Cloud hat das Ziel WissenschaftlerInnen aller Disziplinen offenen Zugang zu digitalen Funktionalitäten, Ressourcen und Kompetenzen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Informationen zu den OpenAIRE Services für WissenschaftlerInnen, Data-Provider, NCPs oder Forschungsservices und Fördergebern finden Sie direkt auf der Startseite unter https://www.openaire.eu