Literature service for blind and visually impaired people

The literature service for blind and visually impaired people is a service provided by the Vienna University Library as an infrastructure for its users. It aims at improving inclusion and facilitating access to literature.

The Library converts its print material and electronic resources to Word or PDF files and makes it available for screen readers. As a result, a document that was originally only available in the form of a book can be

  • read using Braille displays;
  • printed in Braille;
  • displayed on a monitor in a magnified or high-contrast version;
  • or read via screen reader.

The amount of time needed to process your request depends on the availability of the source material and the number of requests made at the same time. The texts will be processed according to a standardised procedure, but we can meet individual requirements if necessary.

To use this service, a library ID (u.card) and the acceptance of the terms of use of the literature service are required.


Please arrange an appointment for consulting the service.

Literaturservice für blinde und sehbeeinträchtigte Menschen

Mit dem Literaturservice für blinde und sehbeeinträchtigte Menschen bietet die Universitätsbibliothek Wien eine Infrastruktur für Bibliotheksbenutzer*innen, welche Inklusion und den Zugang zur Literatur erleichtern soll.

Im Bestand der Bibliothek befindliche Printmaterialien sowie elektronische Ressourcen werden im Format Word bzw. PDF zugänglich gemacht. So kann z.B. ein im Original als Buch vorliegendes Schriftstück

  • mit einer Braillezeile gelesen,
  • in Brailleschrift ausgedruckt,
  • auf einem Monitor vergrößert und/oder kontrastreicher angezeigt,
  • oder per Screenreader vorgelesen werden.

Die Dauer der Bearbeitung ist von der Verfügbarkeit der Unterlagen und der Menge der gleichzeitigen Anfragen abhängig. Die Texte werden standardisiert bearbeitet, jedoch gehen wir gerne auch auf individuelle Anforderungen ein.

Voraussetzung für die Benutzung des Literaturservices ist ein Bibliotheksausweis (u:card) und die Zustimmung zu den Nutzungsbedingungen des Literaturservices.


Für ein Vorgespräch vereinbaren Sie bitte einen Termin.